O.C.G.A. 14-8-56(a) (annual registration imposed only on foreign LLPs); O.C.G.A. 14-8-62(c) (domestic election 'continues to be a limited liability partnership until a cancellation... is recorded' - no periodic renewal) · source↗ (opens the official source)
Every fee datum on this page is verified against the agency's own published schedule or statute (independent re-verification, 2026-09-04); the origin of each value is kept in its record as evidence.
Values were first corroborated across independent internal records; verified cells now also carry the agency's own published schedule or statute as their authority, which is what promotion to verified requires.
Cost position
Ranked 25 of 54 on first-year state
filing cost, at $170.00 against a national median
of $185.00.
Recurring annual cost $60.
See the full ranking.
Where Georgia sits among its neighbours in the first-year cost ranking (USD)Show all 54 jurisdictionsThe full ranking with Georgia highlighted (USD)
Registered-agent statutes, quoted verbatim
The one section on this page that clears the publication gate in full. 10 citations, verified, quoted from the official code with every elision marked.
O.C.G.A. § 14-2-501
◎Verified
Georgia Business Corporation Code · applies to
corporations
Registered office and registered agent.Each corporation must continuously maintain in this state: (1) A registered office that may be the same as any of its places of business; and (2) A registered agent, who may be: (A) A person who resides in this state and whose business office is identical with the registered office; (B) A domestic corporation, nonprofit domestic corporation, or domestic limited liability company whose business office is identical with the registered office; or (C) A foreign corporation, nonprofit foreign corporation, or foreign limited liability company authorized to transact business in this state whose business office is identical with the registered office.
retrieved 2026-07-29
· confidence medium · verified
· publisher not linked (commercial code publisher; the citation is the pinpoint)
O.C.G.A. § 14-11-209
◎Verified
Georgia Limited Liability Company Act · applies to
LLCs
Registered office and registered agent.(a) Each limited liability company shall continuously maintain in this state: (1) A registered office which may, but need not, be a place of its business in this state; and (2) A registered agent for service of process on the limited liability company. The address of the business office of the registered agent shall be the same as the address of the registered office referred to in paragraph (1) of this subsection. (b) A registered agent must be an individual resident of this state, a corporation, another limited liability company, or a foreign corporation or a foreign limited liability company having a certificate of authority to transact business in this state.
retrieved 2026-07-29
· confidence medium · verified
· publisher not linked (commercial code publisher; the citation is the pinpoint)
O.C.G.A. § 14-2-202
◎Verified
Georgia Business Corporation Code · applies to
corp
Articles of incorporation.(a) The articles of incorporation must set forth: (1) A corporate name for the corporation that satisfies the requirements of Code Section 14-2-401; (2) The number of shares the corporation is authorized to issue; (3) The street address and county of the corporation's initial registered office and the name of its initial registered agent at that office; (4) The name and address of each incorporator; and (5) The mailing address of the initial principal office of the corporation, if different from the initial registered office.
retrieved 2026-08-10
· confidence medium · verified
· publisher not linked (commercial code publisher; the citation is the pinpoint)
O.C.G.A. § 14-11-203
◎Verified
Georgia Limited Liability Company Act · applies to
LLCs
Formation.(a) One or more persons may act as the organizer or organizers of a limited liability company by delivering articles of organization to the Secretary of State for filing and supplying to the Secretary of State, in such form as the Secretary of State may require, the following information: (1) The name and address of each organizer; [...] (c) A limited liability company is formed when the articles of organization become effective pursuant to Code Section 14-11-206.
retrieved 2026-08-10
· confidence medium · verified
· publisher not linked (commercial code publisher; the citation is the pinpoint)
O.C.G.A. § 14-2-1622
◎Verified
Georgia Business Corporation Code · applies to
corp
Annual registration for Secretary of State.(a) Each domestic corporation and each foreign corporation authorized to transact business in this state shall deliver to the Secretary of State for filing an annual registration that sets forth: (1) The name of the corporation and the state or country under whose law it is incorporated; [...] (c) The first annual registration must be delivered to the Secretary of State between January 1 and April 1, or such other date as the Secretary of State may specify by rules or regulations, of the year following the calendar year in which a domestic corporation was incorporated or a foreign corporation was authorized to transact business.
retrieved 2026-08-10
· confidence medium · verified
· publisher not linked (commercial code publisher; the citation is the pinpoint)
O.C.G.A. § 14-11-1103
◎Verified
Georgia Limited Liability Company Act · applies to
LLCs
Annual registration.(a) Each limited liability company and each foreign limited liability company authorized to transact business in this state shall deliver to the Secretary of State for filing an annual registration that sets forth: (1) The name of the limited liability company or the foreign limited liability company and the jurisdiction under whose law it is organized; [...] (c) The first annual registration must be delivered to the Secretary of State between January 1 and April 1, or such other date as the Secretary of State may specify by rules or regulations, of the year following the calendar year in which the limited liability company was formed or a foreign limited liability company was authorized to transact business.
retrieved 2026-08-10
· confidence medium · verified
· publisher not linked (commercial code publisher; the citation is the pinpoint)
O.C.G.A. § 14-2-1420
◎Verified
Georgia Business Corporation Code · applies to
corp
Grounds for administrative dissolution.The Secretary of State may commence a proceeding under Code Section 14-2-1421 to dissolve a corporation administratively if: [...] (2) The corporation does not deliver its annual registration to the Secretary of State, together with all required fees and penalties, within 60 days after it is due; (3) The corporation is without a registered agent or registered office in this state for 60 days or more; (4) The corporation does not notify the Secretary of State within 60 days that its registered agent or registered office has been changed, that its registered agent has resigned, or that its registered office has been discontinued; [...]
retrieved 2026-08-10
· confidence medium · verified
· publisher not linked (commercial code publisher; the citation is the pinpoint)
O.C.G.A. § 14-11-603
◎Verified
Georgia Limited Liability Company Act · applies to
LLCs
Judicial and administrative dissolution; reservation of name.(b) (1) The Secretary of State may commence a proceeding under this subsection to dissolve a limited liability company administratively if: (A) The limited liability company does not deliver its annual registration to the Secretary of State, together with all required fees and penalties, within 60 days after it is due; (B) The limited liability company is without a registered agent or registered office in this state for 60 days or more; (C) The limited liability company does not notify the Secretary of State within 60 days that its registered agent or registered office has been changed, that its registered agent has resigned, or that its registered office has been discontinued; [...]
retrieved 2026-08-10
· confidence medium · verified
· publisher not linked (commercial code publisher; the citation is the pinpoint)
O.C.G.A. § 14-2-401
◎Verified
Georgia Business Corporation Code · applies to
corp
Corporate name.(a) A corporate name: (1) Must contain the word "corporation," "incorporated," "company," or "limited," or the abbreviation "corp.," "inc.," "co.," or "ltd.," or words or abbreviations of like import in another language; [...] (4) Shall not in any instance exceed 80 characters, including spaces and punctuation. (b) Except as authorized by subsections (c) and (d) of this Code section, a corporate name must be distinguishable upon the records of the Secretary of State from: (1) The corporate name of a corporation incorporated or authorized to transact business in this state; [...]
retrieved 2026-08-10
· confidence medium · verified
· publisher not linked (commercial code publisher; the citation is the pinpoint)
O.C.G.A. § 14-11-207
◎Verified
Georgia Limited Liability Company Act · applies to
LLCs
Name.(a) The name of each limited liability company shall be as set forth in its articles of organization and: (1) Must contain the words "limited liability company" or "limited company" (it being permitted to abbreviate the word "limited" as "ltd." and the word "company" as "co.") or the abbreviation "L.L.C.", "LLC", "L.C." or "LC"; (2) Must be distinguishable on the records of the Secretary of State from the name of any corporation, limited liability company, or limited partnership; [...] (3) Shall not in any instance exceed 80 characters, including spaces and punctuation.
retrieved 2026-08-10
· confidence medium · verified
· publisher not linked (commercial code publisher; the citation is the pinpoint)
Georgia splits the fallback by entity type. Domestic corporations: no Secretary-of-State service - if there is no registered agent or the agent cannot with reasonable diligence be served, service is by registered/certified mail or statutory overnight delivery to the corporation's secretary at its principal office (sec. 14-2-504(b)). Foreign corporations: mail to the CEO/CFO/secretary at the principal office plus a copy to the Secretary of State with a $10 fee (sec. 14-2-1510(b)). LLCs: the Secretary of State becomes the agent for service when the company fails to appoint or maintain an agent or the agent cannot be found at the registered office.
Reinstatement Fee. A corporation or LLC administratively dissolved may apply for reinstatement within five years, accompanied by a $250 reinstatement fee and a statement that all taxes have been paid.
No Court Access. A foreign corporation transacting business in Georgia without a certificate of authority (the state into which a revoked corporation falls) may not maintain a proceeding in any Georgia court until it obtains one, and is liable for the $500 civil penalty of sec. 14-2-122.
Civil Penalty. The fee schedule fixes a $500 civil penalty for a foreign corporation transacting business in Georgia without a certificate of authority.
Dollar amounts named in the registered-agent statutes
What
Amount
Status
Application for reinstatement following administrative dissolution (corporation and LLC)
$250
○Pending review
Civil penalty for a foreign corporation transacting business without a certificate of authority
$500
○Pending review
Statement of change of address of registered agent
$5 per corporation/LLC, but not less than $20
○Pending review
Filing fee paid to the Secretary of State when serving a foreign corporation by mail after its registered agent cannot be served (copy of process to the Secretary of State)
$10
○Pending review
Annual registration fee / penalty for late filing of annual registration (the filing whose lapse triggers administrative dissolution)
$50 / $25
○Pending review
13 statutory citations and their supporting verbatim quotations sit behind this section in the record and are withheld from public display until the review pass lands, because a citation presented as authority is a verification claimed. Statutory references appearing inside the summaries above are part of the recorded text rather than an authority claim, and they are not rendered as citations, linked, or emitted in this page's structured data. How the gate works.
Governance rules
7 governance rules are recorded for Georgia - the organizational and annual meetings, action by written consent, and whether bylaws or an operating agreement are mandatory. Each verified rule links to the statutory text it was verified against, quoted verbatim below.
Organizational meeting required · applies to
corporations ·
yes
the initial directors shall hold an organizational meeting at the call of a majority of the directors to complete the organization of the corporation by appointing officers, adopting bylaws
reviewed 2026-08-17
· confidence high · verified
O.C.G.A. § 14-2-701
◎Verified
Annual meeting required · applies to
corporations ·
yes
A corporation shall hold a meeting of shareholders annually at a time stated in or fixed in accordance with the bylaws.
reviewed 2026-08-17
· confidence high · verified
O.C.G.A. § 14-2-704
◎Verified
Action by written consent allowed · applies to
corporations ·
yes
may be taken without a meeting if the action is taken by all the shareholders entitled to vote on the action or, if so provided in the articles of incorporation, by persons who would be entitled to vote
reviewed 2026-08-17
· confidence high · verified
O.C.G.A. § 14-2-206(a)
◎Verified
Bylaws required · applies to
corporations ·
yes
The incorporators or board of directors of a corporation shall adopt initial bylaws for the corporation.
reviewed 2026-08-17
· confidence high · verified
O.C.G.A. § 14-11-101(18)
◎Verified
Operating agreement required · applies to
LLCs ·
no
"Operating agreement" means any agreement, written or oral, of the member or members as to the conduct of the business and affairs of a limited liability company.
reviewed 2026-08-17
· confidence high · verified
O.C.G.A. § 14-11-310
◎Verified
Annual meeting required · applies to
LLCs ·
no
Unless otherwise provided in the articles of organization or a written operating agreement: (1) Meetings of members may be called by at least 25 percent of the members
reviewed 2026-08-17
· confidence high · verified
O.C.G.A. § 14-11-309
◎Verified
Action by written consent allowed · applies to
LLCs ·
yes
may be taken without a meeting if the action is taken by all the members or managers entitled to vote on the action or, if so provided in the articles of organization or a written operating agreement
reviewed 2026-08-17
· confidence high · verified
Stated gaps in the record itself: GA corpus file is the 2019 O.C.G.A. codification (Public.Resource.Org Release 73, 2019-08-21); post-2019 amendments to Title 14 are not reflected. All GA rules verified against that snapshot only - re-verify against a current source before relying on GA specifics.
Perpetual - no fixed term. OCGA 10-1-490 imposes no expiration; a registration remains effective until the facts change.
Renewal
No renewal required. Re-registration (a new/amended statement) is required only upon a change of ownership; counties also accept amendment and cancellation filings (e.g., Fulton $175 amendment/cancellation; Hall $25 cancellation; DeKalb $174 amendment/cancellation).
Publication
Required. OCGA 10-1-490(b): notice of the trade name filing must be published once a week for two weeks in the newspaper in which the county sheriff's advertisements are published (the county's official legal organ). The registrant is responsible for arranging/paying publication; practice varies by county - Gwinnett collects $40 payable to the Gwinnett Daily Post at filing, Hall collects $60 payable to the Gainesville Times, DeKalb has the filer pay The Champion Newspaper directly after the clerk approves the filing. Verified county pages do not require proof of publication to be filed back with the clerk (registration is effective on filing); Georgia caselaw treats the publication duty as directory, but a compliance filer should complete it. [Proof-of-publication handling per county not individually verified - confirm with each clerk.]
Online filing
Available
The regime
Georgia requires every person, firm, or partnership doing business under a name that does not disclose the individual ownership of the business to file a verified trade name registration statement with the clerk of the superior court of the county where the business is chiefly carried on (or, for a domestic corporation using a name other than its corporate name, the county of its legal domicile), followed by newspaper publication. There is no statewide DBA registry.
Where it is filed
Filings are made at the county level with the clerk of the superior court, who registers the statement and keeps an alphabetical index of registered trade names in a permanent record book.
Publication
After filing, notice of the registration, giving the names and addresses of each person, firm, or partnership engaging in business under the trade name, must be published once a week for two weeks in the county's official legal advertising newspaper (the paper carrying the sheriff's advertisements).
Term and renewal
Georgia trade name registrations have no fixed term and no renewal cycle. A registrant must file a new and amended registration statement only upon a change of ownership.
Carrying on a business subject to registration without filing is a misdemeanor, though the statute expressly caps the consequences at that plus court costs. A party who has not registered its trade or partnership name at the time an action is filed is cast with (must pay) the court costs. Contracts made under an unregistered trade name are expressly validated, and no action in contract or tort is defeated because of a failure to register.
No state-level fee. The county superior court clerk's fee is set under O.C.G.A. § 15-6-77 plus surcharges; verified county totals run about $166 to $175 (DeKalb $174, Gwinnett $172, Fulton $175, Hall $175, Bulloch $166); a roughly $4 across-the-board civil fee increase took effect July 1, 2024. Newspaper publication adds about $40 to $60, paid to the county legal organ.
Currency: corpus text is OCGA Release 73 (2019-08-21, public-domain law.resource.org mirror); post-2019 amendments are not reflected
exclusive-rights:not-addressed-in-act-text - the statutory text neither grants nor disclaims exclusive rights in a registered trade name (corpus case annotations discuss protectable interests, but that is not statutory text)
name-restrictions:not-addressed - the act contains no list of barred words or entity-designator restrictions for trade names
County filing offices and fees
159 county records held for Georgia
County
Fee
Detail
Status
Appling
175
$175.00 filing; publication in the county legal organ is separate (not priced on the page)
$171.00 registration; cancellation (Affidavit to Cancel) $25.00; publication once a week for two weeks in the legal organ is separate; form must be notarized
$172.00 to clerk; publication once a week for two weeks in The Daily Tribune News paid separately (call 770.382.4545 for publication fee); notarization required
$175.00 registration + $40.00 publication cost to publisher
◎Verified
Bulloch
171
$171.00 registration (Superior Courts Cost Schedule effective July 1, 2025: 'TRADE NAME REGISTRATION ... Includes Law Library fee up to $5.00 & ADR fee
$173.00 per the clerk's Trade Name Registration form; the Real Estate Division fee schedule PDF (real-estate-division-fee-schedule-2.pdf) instead lists
$170.50 registration (Fee Schedule Rev 5/17/2024: 'Includes Law Library fee up to $5.00 & ADR fees $170.50'); plus publication cost to publisher $
◎Verified
Dawson
175
$175.00 registration
◎Verified
DeKalb
174
$174.00 new / amendment / cancellation each; publication paid directly to The Champion Newspaper; e-filing via eFileGA only; credit card surcharge 2% + $1.00; n
Plus $40.00 publication fee payable to Gwinnett Daily Post (check or money order only); cards in-office only with 2.45% service fee
◎Verified
Habersham
171
Publication for two consecutive weeks in The Northeast Georgian (Cornelia) arranged and paid by the applicant; newspaper cost not stated. Clerk's Court Fil
◎Verified
Hall
175
Plus $60.00 publication fee payable to Gainesville Times; cancellation affidavit $25.00; certified check or money order only
Cancellation $25.00; all trade-name forms must be notarized; publication once weekly for two consecutive weeks in the Harris County Journal, cost paid to the ne
◎Verified
Hart
215
Single $215.00 payment to the clerk per the current (Jan 2025) form; publication once a week for two weeks in the Hartwell Sun is a separate applicant obligatio
Cancellation $12.00 ($10.00 filing + $2.00 cross-reference); publication once a week for two weeks in the sheriff's-advertisement paper is separate (clerk&
$175.00 registration incl. law library and ADR fees; plus publication cost paid to the publisher ($15 per 100-word insertion x 2 weeks per the schedule); cancel
$175.00 filing fee payable to Clerk of Superior Court; publication fees payable to Gannett (contact local office for current fees); Trade Name Registration form
◎Verified
Rockdale
165
$165.00 filing fee payable to Clerk of Superior Court (cash, business check, certified check, or money order only); $40.00 publication fee payable to the Rockda
$175.00 as of July 1, 2024; cash, money order, or business check payable to Thomas County Clerk of Superior Court (no personal checks); publication in the Thoma
$175.00 trade name filing fee (does not include publication costs; publication payable to newspaper); company checks, cashier's checks or money orders paya
$163.00 registration fee payable to the Wayne County Superior Court; publication fee separate, payable to The Press Sentinel (once a week for two weeks); cancel
Where do I file a trade name (DBA) registration in Georgia?
At the county level, with the clerk of the superior court of the county where the business is chiefly carried on. A domestic corporation using a name other than its corporate name files in the county of its legal domicile (O.C.G.A. § 10-1-490(a)). Georgia has no statewide DBA registry.
Does Georgia require newspaper publication of a trade name registration?
Yes. Notice of the filing, giving the names and addresses of each person, firm, or partnership engaging in business under the trade name, must be published once a week for two weeks in the paper in which the sheriff's advertisements are printed (O.C.G.A. § 10-1-490(a)).
Does a Georgia trade name registration expire or need renewal?
The statute imposes no renewal cycle: a person, firm, or partnership already registered is not required to reregister except in the event of a change of ownership, at which point a new and amended statement of registration must be filed (O.C.G.A. § 10-1-490(a)).
What happens if I do business in Georgia under an unregistered trade name?
Failure to register is a misdemeanor under O.C.G.A. § 10-1-493, and a party who has not registered when an action is filed must pay the court costs. However, O.C.G.A. § 10-1-491 expressly validates contracts made in an unregistered trade name and provides that no action in contract or tort is defeated by the failure to register.
Recurring entity-level tax
Corporate Net Worth Tax
◎Verified
What it is called
Corporate Net Worth Tax
GA DOR: the tax is 'levied in exchange for the privilege of doing business or exercising a corporate franchise in Georgia'; imposition at O.C.G.A. § 48-13-72 (art. 4, §§ 48-13-70 to 48-13-79) · source↗ (opens the official source)
2025 IT-611 p.17: graduated on net worth = 'issued capital stock, paid in surplus and retained earnings'; foreign non-domesticated corps apportion by property + gross receipts ratio · source↗ (opens the official source)
Minimum
$0
DOR: corporations with net worth of $100,000 or less 'are not subject to tax' but must file (net worth years beginning on/after 2018-01-01); lowest payable bracket is $125 · source↗ (opens the official source)
C corps: 15th day of the 4th month following the beginning of the taxable period (Form 600, rides on prior-year income return - April 15 for calendar-year); S corps: 15th day of the 3rd month (Form 600S); initial return within same window after incorporation/qualification
Stored as a delta against the federal baseline:
3 days this state closes that the
federal government does not, and 1 federal
holiday its filing office works through.
Georgia 2026 closure delta
Date
Day
Filing office
2026-02-16
Washington's Birthday (February observance)
OPEN - federal holiday not observed
2026-04-03
State Holiday (observed on Good Friday)
Filing office closed
2026-11-27
State Holiday (observed Friday after Thanksgiving)
Filing office closed
2026-12-24
Washington's Birthday (observed at Christmas)
Filing office closed
Provenance - Georgia 2026 closures◎Verified
Citation withheld: this record did not clear the publication gate.
25 restricted entity-name word entries
are recorded for Georgia,
the rest requiring an agency's consent or licensure before the word may appear in a name.
Governing law: O.C.G.A. 14-2-401 (corporate name; no word list itself) - restricted words administered by agency approval letters per GA SOS 'How to Reserve a Name' guidance; banking words grounded in O.C.G.A. 7-1-243 (Restrictions on banking and trust nomenclature).
Georgia restricted entity-name words
Treatment
Word or phrase
Authority
Citation
Status
Consent required
Assurance
Office of Commissioner of Insurance (Georgia)
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Insurance Words
◎Verified
Consent required
Banc
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Banking Words; O.C.G.A. 7-1-243
◎Verified
Consent required
Bancorp
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Banking Words; O.C.G.A. 7-1-243
◎Verified
Consent required
Bancshares
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Banking Words; O.C.G.A. 7-1-243
◎Verified
Consent required
Bank
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - 'Use of the following terms or any other similar terms, and any variation of the word bank, in an entity name requires the written approval of the Department of Banking and Finance'; see O.C.G.A. 7-1-243
◎Verified
Consent required
Banker
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Banking Words; O.C.G.A. 7-1-243
◎Verified
Consent required
banking company
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Banking Words; O.C.G.A. 7-1-243
◎Verified
Consent required
banking house
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Banking Words; O.C.G.A. 7-1-243
◎Verified
Consent required
Bankruptcy
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Banking Words; O.C.G.A. 7-1-243
◎Verified
Consent required
Bankshares
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Banking Words; O.C.G.A. 7-1-243
◎Verified
Consent required
Banque
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Banking Words; O.C.G.A. 7-1-243
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - 'Use of the following terms in an entity name requires the written approval of the Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission: college or university'
◎Verified
Consent required
credit union
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Banking Words; O.C.G.A. 7-1-243
◎Verified
Consent required
Fidelity
Office of Commissioner of Insurance (Georgia)
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Insurance Words
◎Verified
Consent required
Indemnity
Office of Commissioner of Insurance (Georgia)
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Insurance Words
◎Verified
Consent required
Insurance
Office of Commissioner of Insurance (Georgia)
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - 'Use of the following terms in an entity name requires the written approval of the Office of Commissioner of Insurance: insurance, assurance, surety, fidelity, reinsurance, reassurance, or indemnity'
◎Verified
Consent required
Reassurance
Office of Commissioner of Insurance (Georgia)
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Insurance Words
◎Verified
Consent required
Reinsurance
Office of Commissioner of Insurance (Georgia)
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Insurance Words
◎Verified
Consent required
savings & loan
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Banking Words; O.C.G.A. 7-1-243
◎Verified
Consent required
Surety
Office of Commissioner of Insurance (Georgia)
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Insurance Words
◎Verified
Consent required
Trust
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Banking Words; O.C.G.A. 7-1-243 (banking and trust nomenclature)
◎Verified
Consent required
trust company
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Banking Words; O.C.G.A. 7-1-243
◎Verified
Consent required
Trusted
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Banking Words; O.C.G.A. 7-1-243
◎Verified
Consent required
Trusting
Georgia Department of Banking and Finance
GA SOS, How to Reserve a Name - Banking Words; O.C.G.A. 7-1-243
● accepted · ○ not accepted · ? unknown or conditional (hover for the recorded condition). Channel data covers 54 jurisdictions (2026-08-15 wave). Source links render on verified rows only.
Contact the filing office
Verified against the agency's own contact page
2026-08-13.
Source links render on verified rows only.
Reaching the filing office
◎Verified
Phone
(404) 656-2817
Mailing address
Office of Secretary of State, Corporations Division, 2 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr. SE, Suite 313 West Tower, Atlanta, GA 30334
Courier / walk-in
Same street address - 2 MLK Jr. Dr. SE, Suite 313 West Tower (Floyd West Tower), Atlanta, GA 30334-1530
Where to search Georgia's UCC (Article 9) financing statements, on what terms, and what the office charges to file one. Verified against the filing office's own pages 2026-09-11. UCC division contacts are listed with the other filing-office contacts above.
UCC records - Georgia◎Verified
Filing office
Georgia Superior Court Clerks' Cooperative Authority (GSCCCA) - UCC Central Indexing System; UCC financing statements are filed with the Clerk of Superior Court of any Georgia county and indexed statewide by the Authority (not the Secretary of State)
Account Management page: 'The cost to subscribe for a Premium account is $29.95 per calendar month, per user, for unlimited image viewing use ... In addition, there is a charge of $0.50 for each page printed.' 'The cost to subscribe for a Regular account is $14.95 per calendar month, per user, for unlimited image viewing use ... In addition, there is a charge of $0.50 for each page printed.' 'The
Filing images online
Yes for Regular/Premium/Single-Use subscribers: 'GSCCCA makes available for viewing images of certain instruments that are on file in the offices of Clerks of Superior Court in Georgia. These images may be viewed without charge and may be printed for a charge of $0.50 per page.' (Search Disclaimer).
$25 per UCC financing statement, paid to the Clerk of Superior Court; $50 for a financing statement filed with an initial assignment. Same fee whether filed on paper or through the GSCCCA eFile portal.
Filing channels
filed at the county / parish office; UCC-1s are filed with the Clerk of Superior Court of any Georgia county (one filing gives statewide notice via the GSCCCA Central Indexing System); paper by personal delivery, courier or mail to the c
UCC-3 amendments, as the office states the fees
$25 each for a UCC amendment, assignment, continuation statement or termination statement, paid to the Clerk of Superior Court. Terminations are not free in Georgia.
Effective for
5 years from filing - O.C.G.A. 11-9-515(a)
Bulk data
published bulk-data program - No separate setup fee published; subscription-only: $200.00/day, $750.00/week, or $1,500.00/month for the Authority's UCC index database, first month's check enclosed with signed agreement, billed mon
Whether Georgia requires a general state-level business license, and on what terms. A "None" is a verified finding cited to the agency's own pages, not a gap. Which of the state's filings ask for an industry code is in the next section.
State business license - Georgia◎Verified
General state license
None - the state issues no general business license; licensing is occupation-specific and local
county and city licenses - No business license, occupational tax certificate, or other document required to operate a business shall be issued to any person subject to licensure under Title 43 without evidence of such licensure being presented.
Which of Georgia's business filings ask the filer for an industry classification, and in what form. "No industry information" is a positive finding cited to the form. Where the state uses its own category list and the list was captured, it is expandable below. The NAICS and SIC reference lists are on their own page.
Industry code on Georgia filings, 9 of 9 rows verified
CD 030 Article One (name) and Article Two (effective date) are the only articles; CD 231 items 1-6 (name, filer, principal office, registered agent, organizers,
Items 1-9 (name, filer, home jurisdiction/formation date/duration, principal place of business, registered agent, manager, records address, effective date, noti
Georgia has 159 county-equivalents: 159 countyies. Names and codes are the U.S. Census Bureau's (2020 national county codes); county seats and official sites are not yet published here.
All 159 county-equivalents
Georgia county-equivalents
Name
Type
FIPS
Note
Appling County
county
13001
Atkinson County
county
13003
Bacon County
county
13005
Baker County
county
13007
Baldwin County
county
13009
Banks County
county
13011
Barrow County
county
13013
Bartow County
county
13015
Ben Hill County
county
13017
Berrien County
county
13019
Bibb County
county
13021
consolidated city-county
Bleckley County
county
13023
Brantley County
county
13025
Brooks County
county
13027
Bryan County
county
13029
Bulloch County
county
13031
Burke County
county
13033
Butts County
county
13035
Calhoun County
county
13037
Camden County
county
13039
Candler County
county
13043
Carroll County
county
13045
Catoosa County
county
13047
Charlton County
county
13049
Chatham County
county
13051
Chattahoochee County
county
13053
consolidated city-county
Chattooga County
county
13055
Cherokee County
county
13057
Clarke County
county
13059
consolidated city-county
Clay County
county
13061
Clayton County
county
13063
Clinch County
county
13065
Cobb County
county
13067
Coffee County
county
13069
Colquitt County
county
13071
Columbia County
county
13073
Cook County
county
13075
Coweta County
county
13077
Crawford County
county
13079
Crisp County
county
13081
Dade County
county
13083
Dawson County
county
13085
Decatur County
county
13087
DeKalb County
county
13089
Dodge County
county
13091
Dooly County
county
13093
Dougherty County
county
13095
Douglas County
county
13097
Early County
county
13099
Echols County
county
13101
consolidated city-county
Effingham County
county
13103
Elbert County
county
13105
Emanuel County
county
13107
Evans County
county
13109
Fannin County
county
13111
Fayette County
county
13113
Floyd County
county
13115
Forsyth County
county
13117
Franklin County
county
13119
Fulton County
county
13121
Gilmer County
county
13123
Glascock County
county
13125
Glynn County
county
13127
Gordon County
county
13129
Grady County
county
13131
Greene County
county
13133
Gwinnett County
county
13135
Habersham County
county
13137
Hall County
county
13139
Hancock County
county
13141
Haralson County
county
13143
Harris County
county
13145
Hart County
county
13147
Heard County
county
13149
Henry County
county
13151
Houston County
county
13153
Irwin County
county
13155
Jackson County
county
13157
Jasper County
county
13159
Jeff Davis County
county
13161
Jefferson County
county
13163
Jenkins County
county
13165
Johnson County
county
13167
Jones County
county
13169
Lamar County
county
13171
Lanier County
county
13173
Laurens County
county
13175
Lee County
county
13177
Liberty County
county
13179
Lincoln County
county
13181
Long County
county
13183
Lowndes County
county
13185
Lumpkin County
county
13187
McDuffie County
county
13189
McIntosh County
county
13191
Macon County
county
13193
Madison County
county
13195
Marion County
county
13197
Meriwether County
county
13199
Miller County
county
13201
Mitchell County
county
13205
Monroe County
county
13207
Montgomery County
county
13209
Morgan County
county
13211
Murray County
county
13213
Muscogee County
county
13215
consolidated city-county
Newton County
county
13217
Oconee County
county
13219
Oglethorpe County
county
13221
Paulding County
county
13223
Peach County
county
13225
Pickens County
county
13227
Pierce County
county
13229
Pike County
county
13231
Polk County
county
13233
Pulaski County
county
13235
Putnam County
county
13237
Quitman County
county
13239
consolidated city-county
Rabun County
county
13241
Randolph County
county
13243
Richmond County
county
13245
consolidated city-county
Rockdale County
county
13247
Schley County
county
13249
Screven County
county
13251
Seminole County
county
13253
Spalding County
county
13255
Stephens County
county
13257
Stewart County
county
13259
Sumter County
county
13261
Talbot County
county
13263
Taliaferro County
county
13265
Tattnall County
county
13267
Taylor County
county
13269
Telfair County
county
13271
Terrell County
county
13273
Thomas County
county
13275
Tift County
county
13277
Toombs County
county
13279
Towns County
county
13281
Treutlen County
county
13283
Troup County
county
13285
Turner County
county
13287
Twiggs County
county
13289
Union County
county
13291
Upson County
county
13293
Walker County
county
13295
Walton County
county
13297
Ware County
county
13299
Warren County
county
13301
Washington County
county
13303
Wayne County
county
13305
Webster County
county
13307
consolidated city-county
Wheeler County
county
13309
White County
county
13311
Whitfield County
county
13313
Wilcox County
county
13315
Wilkes County
county
13317
Wilkinson County
county
13319
Worth County
county
13321
Other records held
Other records held for Georgia
Record
Value
Status
State trademark registration
$15 per class, 10 year term, $15 renewal
○Pending review
Change of registered agent
$30
○Pending review
Who must be named in public filings
LLC: articles of organization need contain only the LLC name (O.C.G.A. 14-11-204 per SOS filing procedure); registered agent + office designated on the transmittal/online application; NO member or manager names required at formation, and no wave datum shows members/managers forced onto the annual registration. CORP: ar
○Pending review
Formation publication required
CORPORATIONS ONLY (profit, nonprofit, professional, benefit; DOMESTIC incorporation only): notice of intent to incorporate published in the county legal-organ newspaper once a week for two consecutive weeks; $40 fee paid directly to the newspaper no later than the next business day after filing articles; no proof of pu
○Pending review
These come from a research pass its own author graded CANDIDATES. They are shown because they are useful and withheld from every ranking on this site because they are not ratified.